My first, own newsletter. Hi, here I am!

Welcome to my first newsletter!

Welcome to my first newsletter!

here it is, my first own newsletter! My name is Mandy, I am 30 years old and live in Cologne. I have an incredible amount of interests, am extremely curious and thoughtful. Whether it's cryptos and investments in general, current world events or my passion for discovering new places and traveling - I'm always looking for new experiences and insights.

Politics and social media trends fascinate me as much as wildlife and nature documentaries. I like to think outside the box and look at things from different perspectives. In doing so, I also often have a more controversial attitude towards certain topics. I often find my peace in spending time alone and letting my thoughts run free.

I imagine myself as an old lady living somewhere in the south, perhaps in France or Italy, in a house surrounded by greenery. The sea is nearby, and a beautiful rose garden stretches behind my house. I enjoy good food and good company and spend my ideal life with lots of free time, learning, and managing my own wealth because my ultimate goal is to work only for myself, rather than for others. And that's best until I'm 40. Lots of free time and (financial) independence are the epitome of freedom and satisfaction for me.

For a long time I've been thinking about finding a way to somehow capture or discuss the topics that occupy my mind as well as all the content I consume on a daily basis that shapes my world of thoughts. My head is full of ideas and thoughts, and there is so much happening in the world every day that I can hardly keep up. That's why I decided to start this newsletter. Here I want to compile content, edit it or just recommend it to interested fellow human beings. It is a way for me to process all this.

I am in an exciting phase of life right now. At 30, I feel like I'm in the "prime of my life" and am open and curious about what the future holds. I want to escape the "hamster wheel" and preferably connect with like-minded people, even though I am an extreme introvert.

Even though there are already many influencers and content creators (in my opinion, this market is oversaturated, but what do I know), I still think that there is only one Mandy, that there is only one me. Each person is unique, and I decided to share my world of thoughts, both for myself and as an experiment to see if maybe something "greater" can come of it. What makes me tick is just as special as each and every one of us. So what's wrong with just trying?

So... here I am. Every day I am insanely busy. I think about a wide variety of topics, I'm always fascinated and inspired, entertained, and also like to get excited about current issues. This newsletter is now my platform, my medium, to broadcast everything that keeps me busy at the moment. And maybe one or the other would like to dive into a conversation?

I look forward to sharing this journey and exploring exciting topics together!

Greetings,

Mandy

What I read today

Today I finished reading the book "The Good Enough Job: What We Gain When We Don't Put Work First" by Simone Stolzoff. Here is a small selection of my notes that I wrote out:

  • Working less benefits us as people, not just as workers.

  • It increases productivity, health, mood and overall well-being.

  • It creates time for activities outside of work that enrich our lives.

  • More time outside of work improves relationships with friends, family and neighbors.

  • It allows for personal hobbies, sports, reading and creative pursuits.

  • Working less allows people to be involved in local politics and to take care of themselves.

  • Society's definition of success (wealth and status) differs from the personal definition.

  • The pursuit of external rewards can lead to anxiety and a lack of fulfillment.

  • The balance between intrinsic motivation and external validation is critical.

  • Governments can support work-life balance through policies and social safety nets.

  • Companies should adopt flexible and humane work practices that prioritize well-being.

  • Individuals should rethink their values and align their actions with their inner values.

  • Working less promotes holistic well-being, nurtures relationships, and creates a more meaningful way of life.

What I watched today

I really like Jame’s content! He always prepares his content well, breaks it down to the most important and explains it in an understandable way.

What I liked today

My current mood….

That’s it for today! There is a lot more to come ☺️